deutsche Version

HERMANN KRONE AND HIS WORK

Hermann Krone, self portrait, 1870, collotype, stereo

Hermann Krone (1827-1916) is one of the early practitioners of photography in the German-speaking countries. Already in 1843, he experimented with the new representational process. At that time, he was an apprentice to a lithographer. Thus he was among those who were interested in the advancement of reproductive and representational methods for professional reasons. At the same time, Krone took courses in natural sciences and philosophy at the university of his hometown Breslau, which was a good background for his later professional career and specialization.

As Krone had been running a studio in Dresden since 1852, he was above all interested in the commercial exploitation of photography. As a natural scientist, he was searching for theoretical explanations and experimental proof for the methods that he applied or even developed. In 1870 he was appointed to the Royal Polytechnic (Königliches Polytechnikum) in Dresden, where he taught his practical experience and theoretical knowledge of photography. He was eager to establish photography as an applied science and to make it an acknowledged field of academic research. He was constantly trying to improve the representational features of photography to broaden the range of its application.

His overall work was characterized by the paradigms of technological progress and a positivistic concept of the sciences. Although Krone was also a man of artistic abilities and skills (he took some courses at the Dresden Art College), his attitude to photography was not really marked by aesthetic considerations. He was rather a follower of functionalism, i.e., of a radically modern concept. This concept saw the technical process mainly as a means of recording information and a means of unlimited reproduction. The photographic image was seen as a "technical sign" (Margret Nesbit) serving the actual increase of knowledge.

Krone shared this clearly technical concept of images. He wanted to give the development of photography a direction that would result in photography as a mass medium. He searched for ways to simplify the photographic technology and its specific achievements of representing reality and to prolong the physical endurance of the image carrier. As later developments proved, he had the vision to focus his efforts on photographic copying methods and the letterpress printing processes.

The present situation gives clear proof that Krone’s intentions went far beyond photography as a representational technique and technological problems. The trends he represented may well be attributed to a general history of media. That is exactly why they prove to be so up-to-date. The development of a faster and extending production and reproduction of images, which Krone supported, was an expression of the propagating industrial production. It was this new type of production that laid the foundation for the immense expansive potential and also for the economic calculation of this development.

Curriculum Vitae

 

Hermann Krone, self portrait (as a student), 1850, daguerreotype
14.09.1827 Hermann Krone is born in Breslau as the son of a lithographer.
   
around 1830 Mother's death.
   
1843 Begins apprenticeship in lithography with his father.
First successful calotype photograph.
First Daguerreotypes.
   
1848 Astronomic photographs in the observatory in Breslau.
Acknowledgement by Alexander von Humboldt.
   
1849/50 Studies at the Dresden Academy of Fine Arts (Kunstakademie zu Dresden).
   
1851 Photographic studio in Leipzig.
   
1852 Krone is given the citizen rights of the city of Dresden.
Opening of the Institute for Photographic Portraiture and Teaching (Photographische Porträt- und Lehranstalt).
Begins to work with the wet collodion process.
   
1853 First landscape photographs of the "Saxonian Switzerland" (Sächsische Schweiz).
In the following years numerous photographs are taken in the "Saxonian and Bohemian Switzerland" (Sächsische und Böhmische Schweiz).
   
1854 Marriage with Clementine Blochmann, with whom Krone will have four children.
   
1855 First trials with collodion dry plates.
Krone is designated agent for photographic lenses at the Royally Appointed Optical Industrial Institute (Königlich privilegierte Optische Industrie-Anstalt) in Rathenow.
   
1850's/60's Krone is concerned with the photographic rendition of colours. Using photography, he compares the intensities of different sources of light.
   
1869 First simple transfer carbon prints.
Founding of the Photographic Society of Dresden (Photographische Gesellschaft zu Dresden) and publication of the journal "Helios“.
"Hermann Krone’s Photographic Art Publishing House" (Hermann Krone’s Photographischer Kunstverlag) begins its activities.
   
1870 Krone begins teaching at the Royal Polytechnic (Königliches Polytechnikum) in Dresden.
Introduction of the collotype following Joseph Albert's method.
   
1872 Production of the "Königs-Album“ with views of the 142 cities in the Kingdom of Saxony.
   
1874/75 Participation in the expedition for the observation of the passage of Venus in front of the sun. Establishment of a research station on the Auckland Islands south of New Zealand. Photographs of the astronomical event on December 9, 1874.
Return journey via Australia and India.
   
1876 Qualification as a university teacher with the topic "On the use of light for illustration in the service of science".
Appointment as the chairman of the Photographic Experts Association for the Kingdom of Saxony (Photographischer Sachverständigenverein für das Königreich Sachsen).
   
1880's/90's A great number of landscape photographs. Krone experiments and photographs with artificial lighting. Experiments in colour photography. Publication of works on philosophy and natural sciences. Preparation of a bill on photographic copyright.


Hermann Krone with photographic travelling equipment, around 1860, Carte-de Visite
(Museum Ludwig/ Agfa Photo-Historama)


Historical Didactic Museum, panel 79, Indoor photgraphs (rectorship, assembly hall of the Dresden Technical College) 1890
   
1895 Award of the title of Professor at the Technical College (Technische Hochschule) in Dresden.
   
1897 Death of Krone's wife. Krone begins the compilation of his poetry, published in four volumes between 1899 and 1902.
   
1898 Krone is finally given a salary for his teaching, until then unpaid.
   
1907 The 80 year old Krone retires. Appointment to the Royal Court Council (Königlicher Hofrat) for his services in the area of photography. Donation of his Historical Didactic Museum of Photography (Historisches Lehrmuseum für Photographie) to the Technical College (Technische Hochschule) in Dresden.
   
1913 Awarded an honorary doctorate at the Technical College (Technische Hochschule) in Dresden.
Krone delivers his manuscript "The Standard Photographic Methods Retaining their Practical Value Forever " (Die für alle Zeit von praktischem Wert bleibenden Photographischen Urmethoden) to the Scientific - Photographic Institute (Wissenschaftlich - Photographisches Institut).
   
17.09.1916 Death of Hermann Krone in Laubegast near Dresden.
   

Unknown photographer, Hermann Krone next to his "Historical Didactic Museum of Photography"
on the International Photographic Exhibition, Dresden 1909
(Museum Ludwig/ Agfa Photo-Historama)

english version

HERMANN KRONE UND SEIN WERK

Hermann Krone, Selbst-Portrait, 1870, Lichtdruck, Stereo

Hermann Krone (1827 - 1916) gehörte zu den frühen Praktikanten der Photographie im deutschsprachigen Raum. Schon 1843 führte er Experimente mit dem neuen Abbildungsverfahren durch. Er absolvierte zu dieser Zeit eine Lehre als Lithograph und gehörte schon deshalb zu jenen, die an der Weiterentwicklung von Vervielfältigungs- und Abbildungsverfahren interessiert waren. Gleichzeitig studierte Krone Naturwissenschaften und Philosophie an der Universität seiner Heimatstadt Breslau und schuf damit die Basis seiner späteren beruflichen Tätigkeit und fachlichen Ausrichtung.

Krones Verhältnis zur Photographie war von Anfang an durch die Parallelität seiner anwendungsorientierten als auch wissenschaftlichen Interessen geprägt - so wie es seiner Ausbildung entsprach. Als Inhaber eines Ateliers, das er seit 1852 in Dresden betrieb, stand für ihn die gewerbliche Nutzung des photographischen Verfahrens im Vordergrund. Als Naturwissenschaftler suchte er nach theoretischen und experimentell nachvollziehbaren Erklärungen für die von ihm angewandten und auch selbst entwickelten Verfahren. Als Lehrer und Dozent für Photographie an der Technischen Hochschule Dresden vermittelte er ab 1870 seine praktischen und theoretischen Kenntnisse. Sein Ziel war es, die Anerkennung der Photographie als angewandte Wissenschaft zu erreichen und sie dauerhaft in der universitären Forschung zu etablieren. Und er strebte danach, durch Verbesserung der Abbildungsleistungen der Photographie ihre Anwendungsgebiete ständig auszuweiten.

Seine gesamte Tätigkeit war durch die Paradigmen des technischen Fortschritts und eines positivistischen Wissenschaftsverständnisses geprägt. Und obwohl Krone auch über künstlerische Fähigkeiten und Fertigkeiten verfügte - er hatte kurzzeitig an der Dresdner Kunstakademie studiert - war sein Verhältnis zur Photographie von ästhetischen Erwägungen wenig beeinflusst. Vielmehr folgte er einem funktionalistischen und damit radikal modernen Konzept. Dieses begriff das technische Abbildungsverfahren vor allem als Mittel zur Informationsaufzeichnung und zur unbegrenzten Vervielfältigung. Das photographische Bild wurde als „technical sign" (Margret Nesbit) im Dienste eines faktischen Wissenszuwachses, begriffen.

Krone folgte diesem dezidiert technizistischen Bildverständnis. Das Ziel seiner Arbeit war es, die Entwicklung der Photographie in eine Richtung voran zu treiben, die schließlich zum "Massenmedium Photographie" führte. Er suchte nach Möglichkeiten, die durch die Photographie geleistete spezifische Wirklichkeitsdarstellung technologisch zu vereinfachen und den Bildträgern physische Dauerhaftigkeit zu verleihen. In richtiger Einschätzung der kommenden Entwicklungen widmete er den photographischen Kopiermethoden und Druckverfahren besondere Aufmerksamkeit.

Aus heutiger Sicht kann festgestellt werden, dass Krones Intentionen über den Bereich der Photographie als einer Abbildungstechnik und über technologische Probleme weit hinausgingen. Die von ihm vertretenen Vorstellungen lassen sich in den Rahmen einer allgemeinen Mediengeschichte einordnen. Gerade dadurch erweisen sie ihre Aktualität. Die von Krone geförderte Entwicklung zur immer schnelleren und ständig anwachsenden Produktion und Reproduktion von Bildern war Ausdruck und Bestandteil der sich immer weiter verbreitenden industriellen Produktionsweise. Von dort her bezog diese Entwicklung ihren expansiven Grundgestus wie auch ihr ökonomisches Kalkül.

LEBENSLAUF

 

Hermann Krone, Selbst-Portrait (als Student), 1850, Daguerreotypie
14.09.1827 Hermann Krone wird in Breslau als Sohn eines Lithographen geboren.
   
um 1830 Tod der Mutter.
   
1843 Beginn der Lithographenlehre beim Vater.
Erste gelungene Photographie nach dem Kalotypie-Verfahren.
Erste Daguerreotypie-Aufnahmen.
   
1848 Astronomische Aufnahmen in der Breslauer Sternwarte.
Anerkennung durch Alexander von Humboldt.
   
1849/50 Studium an der Königlichen Kunstakademie in Dresden.
   
1851 Photographisches Atelier in Leipzig.
   
1852 Krone erhält das Bürgerrecht der Stadt Dresden.
Eröffnung einer "Photographischen Porträt- und Lehranstalt".
Beginn der Arbeit nach dem nassen Collodium-Verfahren.
   
1853 Erste Landschaftsaufnahmen in der Sächsischen Schweiz.
In den folgenden Jahren entstehen zahlreiche Aufnahmen in der Sächsischen und Böhmischen Schweiz.
   
1854 Vermählung mit Clementine Blochmann, mit der zusammen Krone vier Kinder haben wird.
   
1855 Erste Arbeiten mit der Collodium-Trockenplatte.
Krone wird Kommissär für photographische Objektive der Königlich privilegierten Optischen Industrie-Anstalt in Rathenow.
   
1850er/60er Krone befaßt sich mit der photographischen Wiedergabe von Farben. Er stellt photographische Intensitätsvergleiche von unterschiedlichen Lichtquellen an.
   
1869 Erste Pigmentdrucke mit einfachem Übertragungsgang.
Gründung der Photographischen Gesellschaft zu Dresden und Herausgabe der Zeitschrift "Helios".
"Hermann Krone’s Photographischer Kunstverlag" nimmt seine Tätigkeit auf.
   
1870 Krone beginnt in Dresden mit seiner Lehrtätigkeit am Königlichen Polytechnikum.
Einführung des Lichtdruckes nach Joseph Albert.
   
1872 Erarbeitung des "Koenigs-Album" mit Ansichten der 142 Städte im Königreich Sachsen.
   
1874/75 Teilnahme an der Reichsexpedition zur Beobachtung des Durchgangs der Venus vor der Sonnenscheibe. Einrichtung einer Forschungsstation auf den Auckland-Inseln südlich von Neuseeland. Photographische Aufnahmen des astronomischen Ereignisses am 9.12.1874.
Rückreise durch Australien und Indien.
   
1876 Habilitation zum Thema "Von der Verwendung des Lichtes zu Abbildungen im Dienste der Wissenschaft".
Ernennung zum Vorsitzenden des Photographischen Sachverständigenvereins für das Königreich Sachsen.
   
1880er/90er Zahlreiche Landschaftsaufnahmen. Krone experimentiert und photographiert mit künstlichem Licht. Versuche zur Farbenphotographie. Publikation philosophischer und naturwissenschaftlicher Abhandlungen. Ausarbeitung eines Gesetzentwurfs zum photographischen Urheberrecht.


Hermann Krone mit photographischer Reiseausrüstung, um 1860, Carte-de-Visite
(Museum Ludwig/ Agfa Photo-Historama)


Historisches Lehrmuseum, Tafel 79, Innen-Aufnahmen. (Rektorat, Aula der Technischen Hochschule Dresden)
   
1895 Verleihung des Professorentitels an der Technischen Hochschule Dresden.
   
1897 Tod der Ehefrau. Krone beginnt mit der Zusammenstellung seiner gesammelten Dichtungen, erschienen in vier Bänden 1899 - 1902.
   
1898 Krones bis dahin unentgeltliche Lehrtätigkeit wird endlich auch finanziell abgesichert.
   
1907 Der 80jährige Krone tritt in den Ruhestand ein. Ernennung zum Königlichen Hofrat für seine Verdienste auf dem Gebiet der Photographie. Stiftung seines "Historischen Lehrmuseums für Photographie" an die TH Dresden.
   
1913 Verleihung der Ehrendoktorwürde durch die TH Dresden.
Krone übergibt dem Wissenschaftlich - Photographischen Institut sein Manuskript "Die für alle Zeit von praktischem Wert bleibenden Photographischen Urmethoden".
   
17.09.1916 Hermann Krone stirbt in Laubegast bei Dresden.
   

Anonym, Hermann Krone neben seinem "Historischen Lehrmuseum für Photographie"
auf der Internationalen Photographischen Ausstellung, Dresden 1909
(Museum Ludwig/ Agfa Photo-Historama)